Click on About if you’re new here.

 

<BANG, BANG, BANG, BANG, BANG!> “OPEN THE DOOR IF YOU’RE IN THERE, SIS!”

OH MY GOD! STOP BANGING ON MY DOOR, BRENT! WHERE IS YOUR FUCKING KEY?

“Hey, sis. Why all the hostility?  Do you know how many women would love for me to be banging on their door? You need to acknowledge how lucky you are.”

You need to acknowledge how lucky you are that I have a killer headache and I’m hung-over. Otherwise, I’d beat your ass for coming over here this early, loud, and unannounced!

“Early? It’s damn near 2 p.m., shawty.”

Shit… I can’t believe I slept that long.  I’ve wasted the whole day.

“Don’t beat yourself up about it, sis. Everybody knows old people need more sleep.”

Shut up!  Why are you over here getting on my damn nerves?

“I’m here because Mom was slightly worried about you.  She had been calling you all morning, and since you didn’t answer, I had to drop everything I was doing and rush over here to make sure you are okay.  I called and texted you to try to avoid coming here, but your drunk ass was knocked out, obviously.”

Mom is so dramatic. Hell, she lives closer to me than you. She could have checked on me herself.

“As I said, she was only slightly worried. If she had been really worried she would have called the police and had them do a welfare check, like the last time.”

Ugh, don’t remind me. I don’t have time for that kind of foolishness right now. I have too much going on.

“People that have “too much going on” don’t usually get pissy drunk and sleep until 2 in the afternoon, but whatever you say, Sis”

Go to hell, Brent! These last 24 hours have been crazy! You have no idea.

“Well fill me in, but be brief. I have a lot of shit to do today, and I’m already running late because of you.”

I could give you the short version, but you’re going to have a lot of questions.

“Don’t overestimate my interest in your life, Eve.”

Why are you such an ass? Here, read these notes from Dr. Salaam. They pretty much sum up my last 30 hours.

“HOLY SHIT! You’ve been paying someone to store your eggs? I know you’ve been kinda chilling since things ended with Cris, but I had no idea you were this desperate, Sis.”

I’m not desperate!  I just wanted to make sure I have options. Look at how things turned out. Who could have guessed Cris would die due to his hoverboard exploding? Life is funny sometimes. But, that is beside the point. There is absolutely nothing wrong with me freezing my eggs.  Keep reading, jerk.

“Woooooooow! Is this for real, Evening? Is there really a child in this world that is biologically yours?”

Yes, it’s real. I’m a mother, or something.

“I can’t believe this. Mom might literally die when you tell her. I think she had resigned herself to you being a spinster with 15 cats.  Please make sure you’re near a hospital when you break this news.”

I haven’t even thought about telling Mom. I can’t even get into it with her until I’m absolutely sure about how I’m going to proceed. I might try to get custody of Davinder.

Hahaha! Do you really think it’s going to be your decision how you proceed after Mom finds out she has a granddaughter?  Bless your heart.

 Yeah, you’re right. It’s just a lot to deal with.  While I definitely would like input from the people I care about, I have to make sure I’m doing what’s best for Davinder and I.

“That name is interesting. I’m not sure how I feel about it.”

I actually really like it. It’s unique, and Davi is a great nickname. You know I’m a sucker for a great nickname.

“I wonder what she looks like. Do you know anything about her parents?”

Nope. I only know what’s in those notes.

“Why didn’t you get more information, Evening?”

I think I kind of blacked out, or entered an alternate universe. I literally don’t remember anything Dr. Salaam said after she told me I have a daughter.

“Well, you need to go see her and get some more information.  Don’t you think?”

Of course I need to see her again. I may call her later today. This is a lot to process; I don’t know exactly what I’m supposed to do here.

“The first thing you need to do is have a long conversation with the doctor. You can’t make a decision based off this half-assed information you have.”

Yeah, you’re right. I think I’ll call her and ask her to meet me for coffee. This is definitely a conversation we need to have face-to-face. I just don’t understand how my life has come to this.

“I don’t know what to tell you, shawty. I’d love to stay here and help you figure this out, but I have a lot of stuff to do, and you don’t know shit anyway.  I’ll let mom know you’re alive. I’m sure she’ll be relieved to know you’re just a drunk. Call me and let me know what the doctor says if you talk to her today.”

I’m going to call her as soon as you leave, so go away.

“Alright, I’m out of here. Let me know when, or if I’ll get to meet my niece.”

 

Leave a Reply

