Click on About if you’re new here.

 

I’ve been sitting in this coffee shop staring at this picture of my child for over two hours.  I can’t believe how beautiful she is. I know every mother thinks their child is the most beautiful creature they’ve ever laid eyes on, but seriously; Davinder is gorgeous. I’m not just saying that because she’s the spitting image of me. She really is a vision. I should have gone to the park to see her. I just couldn’t bring myself to meet her today. What would I say? How would I even introduce myself? Vincent and I haven’t figured any of this out, and until we do, I probably shouldn’t meet her. Although in fairness, I don’t think the awkwardness of this situation can be avoided. I’m in my mid 30’s and I barely understand what’s happening. I can’t imagine what all of this information will do to a four year old.  I guess we’ll cross that bridge when we get to it. I have butterflies in my stomach. I want to kiss her little cheeks so badly! I’m going to drive by the park to see if I can get a peek. You’d think the odds would be pretty slim considering where the fountains are situated in relation to Marietta Street. But, I just met my child’s father in a coffee shop. Anything is possible.

Marietta Street is calm today. There are the usual tourists hovering around the entrance to Centennial Park, snapping selfies and soaking up the sun, but other than that it’s pretty quiet. The one day I need traffic to be a little heavy so I can creep down the street while trying to spot my baby and baby’s daddy, everyone is just zooming by. A few people were nice enough to give me the middle finger as they angrily sped around me. Downtown Atlanta is not the place to be if you’re in a hurry. Just because you aren’t out here stalking someone doesn’t mean someone else isn’t. Just as I’m passing the Omni Hotel, I spot Vincent and Davinder. They’re both drenched, but Davinder has a small Doc McStuffins towel draped over her shoulders. Her hair is dripping wet and sitting right on the top of her head in a messy bun. That happens to be one of my favorite hairstyles. I’m so giddy I can barely stand it! They’re just about to cross Baker St. so I slowly turn and pull off to the side. Vincent looked up at me and cracked the biggest smile I’ve seen in a while. He’s annoyingly fine. He’s holding Davinder’s hand while she skips alongside him. As they approach my car, Davinder is jumping up and down pointing at me and laughing.  I hope Vincent hasn’t told her about me.  I think that’s something we should do together. Maybe she thinks I’m someone else.  I roll down my window to see if I can hear what she’s so excited about. She’s now right up on my window, we’re face to face. She has the biggest snaggletooth smile, and she yells out, “DADDY SHE’S A WHOOOOOOOOOOOORE! SHE’S A WHOOOOOOORE!”

In this moment, I am mortified and very pissed. What kind of man let’s a four year old think that it is okay to use such language? I knew Vincent was an awful person! We wouldn’t be in this situation if he weren’t. How does she even know what a whore is? Why does she assume I’m one is probably a better question. She must follow me on Instagram.

“Davi! What are you talking about? Who taught you that word? That’s a very, very bad word!”

“But, Daddy… she IS a whore. Look inside her car! She’s just like those people on that TV show you watch that don’t throw away their garbage.”

“Ohhhh, you mean she’s a hoarder. You’re such a silly little girl, Davi. Her car is very junky, but it doesn’t mean she’s a hoarder.”

I just got all the confirmation I need that she is my child.  I’ve never been so sure of anything in my life.

 

2 thoughts on “9. My child thinks I’m a whore

  1. Not sure kids should be watching those hoarding shows at age 4 to be honest. All that garbage is traumatizing. Shit, i cant even watch those shows. Feel like some thing in there gotta be crawling around. Plus, at that age it might give Davi a condition, make her go the opposite, make her all uptight and OCD about cleaning. I know Davi isn’t real, but im invested now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

